Silliman Competition


Vincent Silliman Hymn/Song Competition

The Vincent B. Silliman Award was established by the estate of  alt Vincent Brown Silliman to encourage and promote the creation of music suitable in Unitarian Universalist settings.  The competition is administered by the Unitarian Universalist Musicians Network and occurs in even numbered years. 

Mission Statement
The mission of this competition is to support composers, music directors, and congregations by facilitating the creation of transformational Unitarian Universalist songs.

Previous Awards

2016 - Hymn Competition

  •  Blessed Be - Music & Lyrics Robin Renee
  • For the Beauty of the Earth - Music by Lia Davis, Lyrics by Folliott Sandford Pierpoint 
  • Juntos Cantamos - Music by Elizabeth Scribner/Christine Lucas, Lyrics by Annie Pal
  • Let Peace Expand - Music & Lyrics by Lisa Murray
  • The Light Of the Spirit - Music by David Kent, Lyrics by Rev Sarah Tinker
  • One Small World -  Music & Lyrics Lucy Holstedt
  • Open Your Heart To The Joy - Music & Lyrics Cheryl Ritch
  • People of Hope - Music & Lyrics Darryl Loiacano
  • Seed of Hope - Music & Lyrics by John Kramer
  • The Stream of Life (Come Take My Hand) - Music by Theresa Woody, Verse lyrics adapted from Rabindranath Tagore, Chorus Lyrics by Theresa Woody
  • Together - Music by Chris Hayden, Lyrics by Myrna Adams West

2014 - Hymn Competition

1st place

  • Pass On The Light - Clif Hardin, music; Jan Elicker, text
  • We Will Walk Together - Clif Hardin, music; Jan Elicker, text
  • Rivers of Grace - Carla Gates 

Honorable mention

  • Keepers of The Earth - Joyce Poley
  • Here Together - David M. Glasgow
  • We Are Sunshine in the Streets - David Burrows

People's choice

  • Keepers of The Earth - Joyce Poley

2012 - All music set to text: "Morning So Fair to See"

  • Congregational Hymn: Paul Ayres
  • Children's Choir Anthem: George B. Chave
  • SATB Anthem: Beverly McLarry